Send and remove messages on Workplace Chat

Send messages
To send a message using Workplace in a desktop browser:
  1. Click ChatsChats in the left menu on Workplace.
  2. Click New messageCreate new chat.
  3. Type and then select the name of the person you want to message.
  4. Type your message in the text box at the bottom.
  5. To send the message, either press enter or click Send.
To send a message using the Workplace Chat desktop app:
  1. Click New messageCompose message.
  2. Type and then select the name of the person you want to message.
  3. Type your message in the text box at the bottom.
  4. To send the message, either press enter or click Send.
You can also call or video chat with a person or a group in Workplace Chat.
Remove chat messages
If you want to remove a message less than 10 minutes after you sent it, then you can remove it for yourself or for everyone in the chat. If you want to remove a message more than 10 minutes after you sent it, then you can only remove the message for yourself.
To remove a message using Workplace in a desktop browser:
  1. Hover over the message you want to remove.
  2. Click , then select Remove.
    • If you sent the message less than 10 minutes ago, choose between Remove for everyone and Remove for you.
    • If you sent the message more than 10 minutes ago, click Remove.
  3. Click Remove.
To remove a message using the Workplace Chat desktop app:
  1. Right-click the message you want to remove.
    • If you sent the message less than 10 minutes ago, choose between Remove for everyone and Remove for you.
    • If you sent the message more than 10 minutes ago, click Remove for you.
  2. Click Remove.
Note: Chat group members will see that the message has been removed and the message can still be reported.
Was this helpful?
Yes
No